How to Block People in Facebook on Your iPhone and iPad

Jul 29,2019 • Filed to: WhatsApp Data • Proven solutions

Friendships can turn sour, that’s just how life goes. While it may not be very easy to completely physically cut off someone from your life, Facebook friendships end much faster. Facebook gives you the ability to connect with your friends, family and even people half way around the world. Facebook friendships, like “real-life” friendships can also turn sour. But unlike “real-life” friendships you can choose to prevent your Facebook friend from being able to connect with you like they used to.

You do this by simply blocking or unfriending the person on Facebook. The process is surprisingly simple as this post will momentarily show you.

Part 1: The Difference between "Unfriend" and "Block"

Before we describe how to block people in Facebook on your iPhone or iPad, it is important to offer a proper distinction between these two often misused Facebook terms.

To unfriend someone on Facebook means that the person can still view your profile and they may even be able to send you a friend request sometime in the future. So, when you unfriend someone, the door is not completely closed. There is still the chance they may become your friend again.

To block people in Facebook on your iPhone or iPad is however more final. The blocked person cannot view your profile and they won’t be able to send you friend request in the future. So you are supposed to think it well before you really want to block people in Facebook on your iPhone or iPad.


Part 2: How to Block People in Facebook on iPhone/iPad

If you don’t want this former friend to never contact you again, here’s how to block them.

Step 1: Launch the Facebook App on your iPhone or iPad and then Tap on “More” at the bottom right corner.

block people in facebook

Step 2: Under Settings, scroll down to tap on “Settings”

block people in facebook

Step 3: Next Tap on “Blocking”

block people in facebook

Step 4: In the next window, enter the name or email of the person you wish to block and then tap on “Block.”

block people in facebook

This person will no longer be able to view your posts on your timeline and they won’t even have the option of sending you a friend request. If you ever patch up your differences, you can simply unblock the person. You will be able to find their name on under “Blocked Users” from where you can tap “Unblock” in front of their name.

dr.fone - iPhone Data Recovery

World's 1st iPhone and iPad data recovery software.

  • Provide with three ways to recover iPhone data.
  • Recover photos, videos, contacts, messages, notes, call logs, and more.
  • Compatible with latest iOS devices.
Available on: Windows Mac
3981454 people have downloaded it

Part 3: How to Unfriend Someone on Facebook on iPhone/iPad

If you however want to leave the door open for a reconciliation with this friend, you want to unfriend them. This person will still be able to see your posts, photos and can even send you a friend request.

Follow these simple steps to Unfriend someone on Facebook.

Step 1: Launch the Facebook App on your device and then Tap on More from the bottom right corner.

Step 2: Tap on “Friends” under Favorites and a list of your friends will appear

block people in facebook

Step 3: Search for the friend you want to unfriend and then tap on “Friends”

block people in facebook

Step 4: Tap on Unfriend from the list of options provided

block people in facebook

That easy, you will have unfriended your friend. To become your friend again, they will have to send you a new friend request.

Blocking or Unfriending a friend on Facebook is a great way to keep offending individuals at bay and protect yourself. It is also a great way to keep people you are no longer in great terms with from accessing your content. We hope you now know the difference between blocking and unfriending and how to do one or the other.

James Davis

staff Editor

0 Comment(s)
Home > How-to > WhatsApp Data > How to Block People in Facebook on Your iPhone and iPad