Must-Dos Before Selling Your iPhone

There comes a time when you have to let go your phone. Every once in a while, you get a new one. The reasons may be different from case to case. Maybe you don’t like it anymore and want to buy something else, or perhaps you just received a new one as a gift, or maybe Apple is launching a new model and you absolutely have to have it. The point is, there comes a moment when you decide to sell your iPhone, even if you don’t really want to.

Because of all the data pairing and synchronizing accounts, getting rid of an old smartphone is not as easy as doing it with a regular phone. The Apple support page even has a special chapter dedicated to this subject. So you must know that’s not a joke. Nonetheless, if you are ready to follow these instructions, you should be fine.

First of all, you have to sing out of any active sessions you are connected. Although you are going to delete all the apps that you now have, it is a security measure that is highly recommended. Also what you want to do is unpair your phone from any other device that you might have synchronized it with, like an Apple Watch, your computer, etc. The next step you should take is to backup all your data from your iPhone. You can take it to iCloud or to iTunes, or both, for your own peace of mind.

iTunes is a safer mode to backup your files, but you will need to connect your new phone to a computer in order to recover your files, unlike iCloud, which can be accessed from anywhere, as long as you have an internet connection. Having saved backup copies in both places will save you the trouble if anything happens to one of it.

Still, the most important part to complete before selling your iPhone is to make sure you have deleted everything on it. And this is no joke. If you care about your privacy and don’t want your private pictures of messages to get into the wrong hands, you should definitely wipe everything out.

Simply restoring your iPhone to its Factory settings won’t do the job, and here is why. Although it may seen that everything was erased, in reality anyone with some basic computer knowledge and a special app designed to do that. This is because when you delete something off a drive, an SD card,  or your phone memory, the files aren’t gone forever, instead they are “given permission” to be overwritten. And if nothing is overwritten on top of them, they can be recovered.

An alternative solution to clear all your data completely and permanently is the Wondershare SafeEraser. This is a computer app especially designed to help you with optimizing the space on your device. It is very simple to use, and it can perform different tasks. You can scan for temporary files and delete them, or you can use it to compress your pictures and other files. erase your private data, or your previously deleted files, that are still available for recovery, or you can use it in this case, to wipe your phone.

Wie Sie Daten vom Samsung auf iOS-Geräte übertragen

It’s main advantages are:

  • Compatibility with the iOS operating system, and not only. It can be used for almost every smartphone that is available on the market.
  • It is very user-friendly and intuitive. You really don’t have to have more than the basic computer skills required for computer work in order to be able to use it. All the features are easy to understand and to use.
  • You can use it to delete any kind of files or apps from your phone, including contacts and texts, bookmarks, system settings, call history, iCloud ID, Game Center, apps, profiles, and any other information can can be stored onto your device.

3,289,116 people have downloaded it

Here are the steps you need to take in order to delete your files for good, using Wondershare SafeEraser:

  1. First of all, you need to download and install Wondershare SafeEraser to your computer. After that you can run it. Following this, you should connect your iPhone to the computer via the USB cable. Make sure you have signed out of your iCloud, in order not to lose any information by mistake. After the program recognizes your device, it will open up a window, with five options for you to select. The first one on your left - Erase all data - is the one that you need at this point.
  2. iphone-data-eraser

  3. Type in the box the word “delete”. This is a security measure, to make sure you didn’t start the deleting process by mistake.
  4. iphone-data-eraser

  5. Wait for your files to be deleted. There is nothing much you can do right now except to wait for it to be done.
  6. iphone-data-eraser

  7. When the deleting process is complete, a new screen with the word “Completed” will appear. Once you got here, the process of wiping out your phone out is done.
  8. iphone-data-eraser

One more step you need to take before handling your phone to someone else is to be sure you removed the sim card, since it also contains some information about you, and it links you to your mobile service provider. Not to mention that you can still use it on a different phone, so there is no need for it to go away.

Once you have followed the steps above, you are ready (at least from the physical point of view) to part ways with your iPhone. If you want to sell it, there are certain sites and online businesses that will give you money for it, or you can go to eBay, Amazon, Craigslist, or another platform that encourages this exchanges between people, and try to make a sell there. In any case, there are a lot of options that you can try, and a lot of different payments that you can receive, starting from gift-cards, discount vouchers, and even money, and up to bitcoins, offered by some sites.

They're downloading

SafeEraser

SafeEraser

(iPhone Eraser)

Protect your private information when selling, recycling or donating your old device.

Home > Resource > Erase > Must-Dos Before Selling Your iPhone
All Topics
Top