Complete Guide on How to Clear Facebook Cache on iPhone

Jul 29,2019 • Filed to: Erase iPhone • Proven solutions

Whenever you take about anything on the internet, one of the most common things to come up will be your cache. This is a part of your device which will download certain files, from fonts and text to banner images and icons.

This is to speed up your experience and to optimize it in lots of different ways, whether that’s giving you better-targeted advertisement opportunities and making everything run smoothly. This is especially common when using the Facebook app on your iPhone.

Today, we’re going to explore the ins and outs of the Facebook cache, and exploring why you would want to clear it, and what are the benefits of managing it professionally. Let’s jump straight into it.

Part 1. Facebook cache? Why clear it?

The Facebook cache on your iPhone will fill up with data and files the more you use it. This is to improve your overall experience and to ensure your Facebook usage is the best it can be, and the app and Facebook platform runs as fast as possible.

However, the more you use the app, the more files your device and the cache will download. Over time, you can find plenty of files on your device that you no longer want or need, which can start to cause problems.

Most notably, the bigger the cache on your device, the more memory it will be using, therefore the less space you’ll have for your own files, such as your photos, videos, app, and other cache databases.

What’s more, and perhaps most commonly, the more the space on your device gets filled up, the less operating power your device will have, and ultimately, the slower your device will run. In some extreme cases, your device may even seem unusable.

Fortunately, you don’t have to live with a device that’s running so slowly or running out of space; there are options you can take to fix things. For the rest of this guide, we’re going to explore how you can clear and managing your cache to have the best all-rounded experience.

Part 2. 4 solutions to clear Facebook cache on iPhone

2.1 Clear Facebook cache from the browser

The first approach for clearing your Facebook cache is completely deleting it so you can start again. This is an effective and most beneficial approach because while you may have to redownload some files, all the bulk files you no longer need will be gone.

To make things even easier, the best way to approach this is by using a tool called Dr.Fone – Erase (iOS). This is a powerful software application that’s designed to scan deep into your phone and find even the very smallest traces of Facebook cache files to clear them out and give you the best experience.

Some of the other benefits you’ll be able to enjoy when using Dr.Fone – Erase (iOS) include;

dr.fone - Erase

Clear Facebook Cache on iPhone Permanently (100% Unrecoverable)

  • Can clear everything on your device, or only specific files you want
  • Works on all iOS firmware versions, and all iOS models
  • One of the most user-friendly applications available
Available on: Windows Mac
4,683,556 people have downloaded it

If this is the solution you’ll looking for, read on to discover the complete step-by-step guide on how to use everything properly to the most effective results;

Step One – Head over to the website and download the Dr.Fone – Erase (iOS) software to your computer, and then install it by following the onscreen instructions. Once installed, open the software, so you’re on the main menu, and then connect your iPhone to your computer using the lightning USB cable.

main menu

Step Two – Click the Erase option on the main menu, followed by the Erase Private Data option in the menu on the left-hand side, then click Start.

Erase Private Data

Step Three – You can now select all the files you want to be scanned on your device and then deleted. For the best results, select all the boxes, but for just the Facebook browser cache, select the Safari Data option.

Safari Data

Step Four – The software will now scan, and you’ll be able to see all the results in the page. Simply go through this list and tick all the files you want to be deleted. You can also select everything for the best results and for a much faster device.

select items

You can then wait for the files to be deleted, before disconnecting your device and starting to use it like normal!

2.2 Clear Facebook cache from settings

Since the Facebook app is storing the cache files on your phone, just like every single other app on your device will, Apple have allowed the setting to help you clear the cache as you please on a per-app basis. Here’s how;

Step One – From the main menu of your iPhone, navigate Settings, and tap the General icon. Now click on the Storage option.

Step Two – Scroll down the list of apps until you find the Facebook icon, and tap it. You will then find the option to uninstall the app completely, or to offload some of the data, or to specifically delete the documents and data related to the app (the cache). The choice is up to you!

Clear Facebook cache using settings

2.3 Clear Facebook cache using Facebook app

If you want to clear the Facebook cache file specifically, whether that’s for protecting your private data, or you’re planning on speeding up your device and gaining unwanted space back, you can do so within the Facebook app settings themselves. Here’s how;

Step One – Open the Facebook app and navigate from the homepage to the Settings menu using the profile option in the toolbar.

Step Two – Navigate Settings > Account Settings > Browser, and then click Clear Data. All the cache will now be deleted, and you’ll be able to use your device as usual.

clear from fb app

2.4 What if Facebook cache contains top secret

In some extreme cases, you may want to stop anybody from being able to find out your Facebook data and see who you’ve been messaging, whose profile you’ve been looking at, or basically any of the ways you’ve been using Facebook.

If you want your private browsing data to be completely private, you’re going to need to know how to completely delete your Facebook cache data without leaving for anyone to find should they come looking.

The best way to do this is using the Dr.Fone – Erase (iOS) software again; this time giving your device a complete clean through which leaves no trace you were on the device. Of course, this method completely erases everything on your phone and leaves nothing; basically a hard factory reset.

If you want to continue with this method, but you still want to keep all your personal files and documents, you need to make sure you’re backing up your device before proceeding. When you’re ready, follow the step-by-step instructions.

Step One – Download and install the Dr.Fone – Erase (iOS) software by following the onscreen instructions. Once installed, connect your iPhone to your computer using the lightning USB cable and then run the application, so you’re on the main menu.

erase whole device

Step Two – from the main menu, click the Erase option, followed by the Erase All Data option from the menu on the left-hand side. Now click Start.

select from main menu

Step Three – Now select how deeply you want to scan to delete all your content. For the best settings that give the best results, use the Medium option.

scanning level

Step Four - Proceed by typing in the ‘000000’ code to confirm you’re happy to delete all your private data on your device. Click Confirm to continue.

enter code

Step Five – The software will now automatically carry out the rest of the work. Just sit back, relax, and make sure your device stays connected to your computer and your computer stays on. When finished, disconnect your device and start using it like normal!

disconnect device after completion

James Davis

staff Editor

0 Comment(s)
Home > How-to > Erase iPhone > Complete Guide on How to Clear Facebook Cache on iPhone